Arizona’s health-related marijuana laws went into impact in late August 2019. That signifies that qualifying individuals and designated caregivers now have access to cannabis-primarily based medicine.
What Individuals Have to have to Know
Eligibility: Individuals who are diagnosed with a single or additional of the following health-related situations might be eligible for a health-related marijuana card:
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s Illness
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Illness
- Post-traumatic Anxiety Disorder
- A chronic or debilitating illness or health-related situation or the remedy for a chronic or debilitating illness or health-related situation that causes:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Serious and chronic discomfort
- Serious nausea
- Seizures, which includes these characteristic of epilepsy
- Serious or persistent muscle spasms, which includes these characteristic of numerous sclerosis
If you have a debilitating situation that is not listed above, the state of Arizona enables you to request the addition of your situation. Your request will have to incorporate the following elements:
- The name of the situation
- A description of the symptoms, which includes why these symptoms are debilitating
- A description of the traditional therapies presently utilised to treat the situation
- A summary of proof justifying the use of cannabis to treat the situation
- Peer-reviewed articles published in scientific journals supporting the use of cannabis as a remedy of the situation
The state will overview these requests in January and July of each and every year. Follow the Arizona Division of Well being Solutions weblog to remain present on the Department’s rulings about situation requests.
Age Limits: Individuals of all ages are potentially eligible for health-related marijuana. Having said that, individuals who are beneath the age of 18 will have to obtain consent from their legal guardian or custodial parent to participate in Arizona’s health-related marijuana plan.
How to Apply: When you have received a debilitating situation diagnosis, you will have to acquire a written certification from an Arizona registered health-related physician, osteopath, homeopath, or naturopath with whom you have a bonafide doctor-patient connection.
The written certification type will have to be completed on the official Arizona Division of Well being Solutions document and submitted inside 90 days of submitting the health-related marijuana card application.
Exactly where to Apply: Arizona residents can only apply for a patient card on the net. The Arizona Division of Well being does not accept in-particular person applications.
Application Costs: The price of applying for a health-related marijuana card is $150.
If you are presently getting SNAP added benefits, the application charge is decreased to $75. You will have to incorporate a copy of an eligibility notice or electronic added benefits transfer card to prove participation in the SNAP plan.
House Developing: If a qualifying patient lives additional than 25 miles away from a dispensary, they or their designated caregiver might be authorized by the Division to cultivate health-related marijuana in their properties. Cultivation will have to be performed in an enclosed, locked facility such as a greenhouse, closet, or shed as lengthy as these facilities are equipped with locks and obstruct any viewing of the cannabis.
Physicians Can Propose Healthcare Cannabis by Following These Recommendations
Allopathic, osteopathic, homeopathic, and naturopathic physicians who hold valid Arizona licenses might submit written certification types for individuals with whom they have an established doctor-patient connection.
If the doctor can confirm or make a single of the aforementioned debilitating health-related situation diagnoses for their patient, the doctor can comprehensive this written certification type on the patient’s behalf.
In addition to these standard needs, Arizona’s law calls for physicians to comprehensive these prerequisites prior to recommending cannabis to their individuals:
- Conduct an in-particular person exam documenting the patient’s debilitating situation-associated symptoms
- Evaluation the patient’s health-related records dating back to 12 months, which includes records from other physicians
- Evaluation the patient’s response to traditional therapies
- Evaluation the patient’s profile on the Arizona Board of Pharmacy Controlled Substances Prescription Monitoring Plan database
- Clarify the dangers and added benefits of health-related cannabis to the patient or their legal guardian or custodial parent
- If applicable, disclose any individual or qualified connection the doctor has with the advisable dispensary
- Attest that cannabis will have a medically effective impact on the patient in the remedy of their debilitating situation
The Arizona Division of Well being Solutions will sometimes conduct audits on physicians. If the Division determines that the doctor is engaged in misconduct, it will report its findings to the physician’s licensing board.
Physicians are authorized to revoke a patient’s written certification in the following situations:
- The patient’s debilitating situation diagnosis is no longer applicable
- The patient is not medically benefiting from cannabis in the physician’s qualified opinion
- The patient is not following the physician’s suggestions for the use of health-related marijuana
When physicians are not prohibited from qualified involvement with dispensaries, they might not present written certifications for cannabis if they are operating as a dispensary’s health-related director.
Guidelines for Healthcare Marijuana Enterprises
Authorized Dispensary Form: Dispensaries registered with the Arizona Division of Well being Solutions will have to be nonprofit health-related dispensaries. This signifies that they can only obtain payment for small business-associated expenditures and might only present the solution to registered qualifying individuals.
Licensed dispensaries are the only entities that might cultivate cannabis. There is no legal avenue for a small business entity to acquire a cultivation-only variety license.
If dispensary owners do not want to cultivate, they might acquire cannabis from other licensed dispensaries.
Dispensary License Limits: There might only be a single dispensary for every single 10 pharmacies in the state.
Authorized Goods: Dispensaries are essential to be open for at least 30 hours a week and present health-related marijuana and educational components to qualifying individuals.
Registered dispensaries might develop, prepare, transport, and/or sell health-related marijuana, marijuana-associated paraphernalia, cannabis-infused edibles, and other cannabis-infused merchandise.
Dispensaries might also provide cannabis merchandise to qualifying individuals.
Eligible Dispensary Owners and Workers: Adults aged 21 and older with criminal records excluding felony offenses might be eligible to personal or operate as a principal board member or officer of a dispensary.
Only principal officers or board members might apply for dispensary agent registration cards for themselves and for their staff. The application will have to be completed on the net.
Application charge: The dispensary registration charge is $5000. This charge is largely non-refundable. There is only 1 exception: if the applicant completes a registration but does not obtain a certificate, the applicant will obtain a refund of only $1000.
Healthcare Oversight: Dispensaries will have to employ an Arizona-licensed doctor to operate as a health-related director. Healthcare directors help in the instruction and education of dispensary agents and clients. Physicians who are health-related directors are prohibited from issuing written certifications to individuals.